Santos Silva/Wodrascka/Meaas Svendsen/Berre – Rasengan!

048 Rasengan!Artist: Santos Silva/Wodrascka/Meaas Svendsen/Berre
Title: Rasengan!
Format: LP, digital
Catalogue no.: BFREC048LP
Barcode: 5706274008166
Label: Barefoot Records
Style: free jazz
Origin: Portugal / France / Norway / Denmark
Release date: 27.06.2016


The European free improvising quartet Santos Silva / Wodrascka / Meaas Svendsen / Berre first met at Café MIR in Oslo for an ad-hoc concert during the Blow Out! festival in August 2015. This first musical meeting turned out to be a great success, so it was decided on the spot that this ensemble should continue to play together. The debut LP “Rasengan!” is the result of this evening, documented on a 36 min long live LP.

The quartet consists of four improvising musicians with very different backgrounds. The Portuguese trumpet player Susana Santos Silva is in the last years more and more active in Scandinavia, mostly together with a Swedish bassist Thorbjörn Zetterberg. Pianist Christine Wodrascka lives in Provence in France, where she works with a variety of genre-crossing projects from performance and poetry to participation in the 40-piece improvisation ensemble Fabrique d’Improvisation Libre. Norwegian Christian Meaas Svendsen is a bassist who’s gaining more and more attention across Europe. Among other things, he’s active with bands like Mopti and Duplex. Not to forget, he also represents the young generation in Paal Nilssen-Love’s Large Unit. Håkon Berre, originally from Norway but living in Copenhagen, has established himself as one of the most interesting young drummers on the Danish scene for improvised music. Håkon’s inventive and energetic drumming has taken him to clubs and festivals all over the world in collaboration with artists like Peter Brötzmann, Phil Minton, Axel Dorner, Liudas Mockunas and Peter Friis-Nielsen.

Track listing

Side A:
01 Sweatshirt pt. 1
02 Sweatshirt pt. 2
Side B:
03 Death by Candiru

Line-up and credits

Susana Santos Silva — trumpet (PT)
Christine Wodrascka — piano (FR)
Christian Meaas Svendsen — bass (NO)
Håkon Berre — drums (NO)

All music by Santos Silva/Wodrascka/Meaas Svendsen/Berre.
Recorded by Stig Gunnar Ringen at Cafe Mir, Oslo, August 2015.
Mixed and mastered by Lasse Marhaug.
Cover design by Lasse Marhaug.
Photos by Peter Gannushkin.

© Barefoot Records 2015