ARTIST: Maria Faust Jazz Catastrophe
TITLE: Maria Faust Jazz Catastrophe
LABEL: Barefoot Records
STYLE: Big band/Contemporary
ORIGIN: Denmark
RELEASEDATE: February 25th 2013

Maria Faust Jazz Catastrophe (MFJC) is a big band that involves 15 musicians from Scandinavia and Baltic countries. The Music is written and conducted by Estonian composer and saxophone player Maria Faust, previously known as leader of the bands Maria Faust Group and Pistol Nr. 9.

MFJC is a unique constellation of a modern contemporary big band. It follows the classical big band set up with its instrumental groups but is smaller and includes 2 double basses, tuba and electronics.

The music is a development of Maria Faust’s work with new instrumental techniques, minimalist harmony and strong rhythmical figures, uniting fully composed parts with open improvisation.

Line up:
Reeds: Maria Faust; Lars Greve; Sture Ericson; Henrik Pultz Melbye. Flute/piccolo: Anna Juuliska Nykvist. Trumpets: Tobias Wiklund; Kasper Tranberg. Trombone: Jens Bang. Tuba: Kristian Tangvik.

Electronics & voice: Qarin Wikström. Double bass: Adam Pultz Melbye; Niels Bo Davidsen. Guitar: Stephan Sieben. Piano: Morten Pedersen. Drums: Håkon Berre.

© Barefoot Records 2015