041 free4arts-1200pxArtist: Tomasz Dąbrowski FREE4ARTS
Title: Six Months and Ten Drops
Catalogue no.: BFREC041CD
Barcode: 5707471040270
Label: Barefoot Records 2015
Style: jazz / third stream
Origin: Poland / Denmark
Release date: June 15, 2015

Tomasz Dąbrowski is an award-winning Polish trumpeter and composer settled in Copenhagen, Denmark. With four albums released under his own name and dozens of CDs as a co-leader and sideman, he is considered one of the most gifted trumpeters and composers in Europe. Tomasz has mostly been known for his work with TOM TRIO, string of concerts S-O-L-O: 30th Birthday / 30 Concerts / 30 Cities and projects with Tyshawn Sorey, Kris Davis and Andrew Drury, which received raving reviews internationally and created opportunities to tour all over Europe, North America and Asia. Tomasz is a member of a Danish musician-run collective and record label Barefoot Records.

Tomasz Dąbrowski FREE4ARTS — Six Months and Ten Drops features seven original compositions, rich in strong ideas and unconventional musical solutions. The music is melodic and multidimensional, inspired by Polish folk, slavic heritage and European third stream jazz and avant-garde scene. It has a personal touch and a Scandinavian sense of space. Compositions were written for this specific lineup with one idea: to highlight the musicians’ unique voices and create a band, where the sound of one individual loses its meaning without a context.

The group features some of the most impressive young players on the Scandinavian scene together with Jacob Anderskov, who has been described as a pianist, band leader and composer “belonging to the most extraordinary artists of contemporary music” (Jazz Podium, Germany).

Tomasz Dąbrowski has always been rejecting the conventions of lineup choice: starting with a trio without a harmonic instrument, forming a duo with drums and a trio with piano and drums, playing solo trumpet concerts. Tomasz is always looking for new sounds, textures and forms, proving that the unconventional has its peculiar colour and is beautiful in its own way.

Track listing:
Six Months  (03:42)
Dan  (06:27)
Ten Drops  (08:11)
I Made It to Oradea  (05:48)
Flip and Reverse  (07:08)
Heavy Ah  (09:50)
Five Weeks  (04:05)

Lineup and credits
Tomasz Dąbrowski — trumpet, mutes
Sven Dam Meinild — baritone sax
Jacob Anderskov — grand piano
Kasper Tom — drums

All music is written by Tomasz Dąbrowski / KODA
Recorded at Koncertkirken, Copenhagen, June 2014
Recorded, mixed and mastered by John Fomsgaard
Cover art / design: Paulina Białkowska

© Barefoot Records 2015